About Us



The Australian and New Zealand Society for Immunology Inc.,
(formerly the Australasian Society for Immunology Inc.)
was created by the amalgamation in 1991 of the Australian Society for Immunology, formed in 1970, and the New Zealand Society for Immunology, formed in 1975.


The aim of the Society is to encourage and support the discipline of immunology in the Australasian region. It is a broadly based Society, embracing clinical and experimental, cellular and molecular immunology in humans and animals. The Society provides a network for the exchange of information and for collaboration within Australia, New Zealand and overseas. ASI members have been prominent in advancing biological and medical research worldwide. We seek to encourage the study of immunology in Australia and New Zealand and are active in introducing young scientists to the discipline.

History of ASI


The Society’s activities are various. In partnership with John Wiley & Sons Inc, ASI produces the journal Immunology & Cell Biology and the new online journal Clinical & Translational Immunology. As well as running a widely attended and stimulating annual scientific meeting, ASI also has Regional Branches and Special Interest Groups, an active awards and bursaries program, an international visiting speakers program and an exciting new women’s initiative as well as our informative and entertaining newsletter.

Events Calendar


ASI is a founding member in the Federation of Immunological Societies of Asia-Oceania (FIMSA), which will forge links between immunologists and aid the development of biotechnology-related industry in the Asia-Pacific region. ASI Inc. has a membership of over 1200 and is affiliated with the Australasian Society for Medical Research (ASMR), the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Committee of Australian Biomedical Societies on Animal Experimentation (CABSAE), and the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS). The Australian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy (ASCIA) is affiliated with the ASI.



The ASI is run by councillors elected by the members in each State, the Northern Territory, the ACT and New Zealand. Councillors are elected for a two-year term. The Executive of the council is made up of the President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and Vice- or Immediate Past-President. The Executive deals with the day-to-day running of the Society. The Secretariat keeps lists and accounts and provides secretarial services.


© ASI 2021

ABN 76 330 189 856 | ARBN 084 971 559 | CAV A0016266B