The Derrick Rowley Medal
for service to ASI

Since 2005, the Derrick Rowley Medal has been awarded by ASI Council to those who have demonstrated outstanding service to the ASI and the discipline of Immunology over many years.

The ASI Derrick Rowley Medal

Derrick Rowley at Government House (SA) after being awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
for his contribution to Immunology, by the Governor Roma Mitchell, at age 71, 1993.
​Photo Credit: Rowley family


ASI Derrick Rowley Medallists

Year Name and Affiliation
2005 Lindsay Dent, University of Adelaide
2006 Judith Greer, University of Queensland
2008 Phil Hodgkin, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute
2009 Andrew Lew, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute
2013 Margaret Baird, University of Otago
2016 Ian Barr, WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza, VIDRL, Doherty Institute
2016 Dale Godfrey, Peter Doherty Institute
2016 Andrew Lew, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute
2016 Jennifer Rolland, Monash University
2016 Jose A. Villadangos, Doherty Institute and Bio21 Institute, University of Melbourne
2019 Susanne Heinzel, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute
2019 Alan Baxter, James Cook University

Lindsay Dent and Betty Rowley
The inaugural Rowley Medal being presented to Dr Lindsay Dent from the University of Adelaide 
at the 2006 Annual Scientific Meeting in Melbourne by Mrs Betty Rowley.

2016 Derrick Rowley Medal Recipients. From left to right: Ian Barr, Jennifer Rolland, Jose A. Villadangos, Andrew Lew, Dale Godfrey. Photo credit: WEHI


Do you know someone worthy of receiving the ASI Derrick Rowley Medal?
If so, please nominate a recipient by clicking the green button below.

Click here to nominate a member now



© ASI 2021

ABN 76 330 189 856 | ARBN 084 971 559 | CAV A0016266B